It’s Alive!

I’m on winter break, which means I finally have both the time and the brainspace to return to this blog!

Being on vacation for a month can be a bit strange.  Not to complain–assuming I’m employable after I graduate, I won’t have a break from everything like this for a long time.  But I have gone from spending ten hours in the library preparing for finals to being at home, where my biggest accomplishment on a given day might be that I made myself dinner.  I slowly adjust to this lifestyle of lower productivity, and then once I do adjust, I stop being productive altogether.

I find that once I get through the I-don’t-want-to-get-out-of-my-PJs-ever phase, vacations are opportunities to establish good habits, and pursue projects I don’t usually have time to devote myself to.  Habits like writing and exercising most days, and projects like making things with my hands and learning new skills or hobbies.

I haven’t had a desk in my bedroom at home for years, but in the interest of keeping work and sleep separate, I got myself one from IKEA.  Shockingly, it was relatively painless to assemble.  Mostly because I had help.

super awesome writing desk

Current Writing Projects

I basically have two separate projects going on right now: first is my (now officially approved) senior thesis, a short story collection I’m in the process of writing.  The second is my novel, the first draft of which is lying in my desk drawer.  I originally planned to start revising that mess during this break, but now I’m thinking I may let it rest a while longer.  I’ll definitely re-read the draft so that I can think about it more, but I’m afraid that if I try to dive head-first into revisions now, I won’t do the story justice as I simultaneously churn out six more short stories in the next six months.

Best Books I’ve Read Recently

My home library is awesome about getting books from nearby libraries if my branch doesn’t own them.  I didn’t realize just how awesome until I ordered 25 books, expecting them to take a number of weeks to trickle in, and came home to all this:

all of the books

I’m looking forward to making my way through these stacks over the coming weeks.  Out of all the books I’ve read recently, a couple easily stand out.  I couldn’t put these books down.  I haven’t experienced that in a while, and I’d missed it!

Where’d You Go Bernadette

Where'd You Go Bernadette

Image from NYTimes

It’s rare that I laugh out loud while reading a book, but I LOL’d the whole way through this one.  This novel is a witty and sarcastic story about what happens when an artist stops creating.

And the Mountains Echoed

And the Mountains Echoed

Image from Goodreads

I’ll confess, I read this entire book in less than 48 hours.  It was that good.  Khaled Hosseini is an amazing storyteller, and I’m always impressed with his ability to weave together a narrative of such a big cast of diverse characters.

Stay tuned for more frequent updates over the next month!

5 thoughts on “It’s Alive!

    • The Brief and Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Tell the Wolves I’m Home, The Round House, Gone Girl, Too Bright to Hear Too Loud to See, The Interestings, Alif the Unseen…I’ve got a lot of reading to do! :)

What do you think?

