Should I Major in Creative Writing?


…is a question some of you may be asking.  And by some of you I mean probably one person who is under twenty and about to start college later this year.

My answer goes a little something like this:

I don’t know.  I did, and I learned a lot.  When you talk about books and share your writing with other people who like books and write, good things will happen.

You likely don’t need an official program to do this, especially if you know a number of writers, some of whom are more accomplished, experienced, and wise than you are.  Of course, that wasn’t the case for me in high school.  I always did NaNoWriMo alone.  The only people I showed my writing to were my English teachers, and they gave me constructive criticism like “Great!” and “Nice work!”

You also likely do not need to major in it.  Like, if you took a handful of workshop classes over the course of your college career, while majoring in Biology or something, you’d probably get almost the same benefits as you would if you actually majored in the discipline.

But since I did not know other writers, and am not half as interested in other subjects as I am in Literature, I went ahead and majored in Creative Writing.

And you guys, I did it.  I wrote a thing.

I’m graduating next week.  People seem to like my short stories, and I’m not even paying them to say so.

Also I have a job lined up.

Things are going well.  So you don’t have to be a Creative Writing or Lit major in order to be a writer, but you can if you want to, and things will work out just fine.

YOU DO YOU.

***

A little life note: After graduation, I’ll be traveling a bit, apartment searching, visiting loved ones, and moving to a new state.  So I will either have a ton of time to blog or (more likely) will be a bit preoccupied.

In the meantime, allow me to share with you one of my current interests outside of writing:

Small Animals Pretending to Be Unicorns

You’re welcome.

 

One thought on “Should I Major in Creative Writing?

  1. Pingback: Lovely Links 06.30.14 – 07.06.14 | The College Novelista

What do you think?

